Diversity Takes Center Stage at the 2023 Antenna Awards: A Night of Triumph for Community Television.

November 2, 2023

MELBOURNE, 30 OCTOBER 2023: The Antenna Awards, a celebration of the best of community TV, returned on Saturday night as a beacon of creativity and inclusivity in Australian media.  

On 28 October, the Antenna Awards celebrated the achievements of community TV programs, personalities and producers in a glitzy ceremony hosted by comedian Lizzy Hoo (The Project, Have You Been Paying Attention?) with house band The Putbacks, featuring Jace XL, at Deakin Edge, Federation Square. 

Program makers travelled from around Australia to celebrate with and recognise their peers across twenty-four peer-judged categories. Nominations highlighted the exciting abundance of emerging creative talent in community TV, through to the enormous contributions made to diverse communities by committed volunteers over many years.  

“This is the most diversity Australian television has ever seen,” joked ABC’s Annie Louey, on hand to present an award. 

Joining the festivities and representing the Victorian Allan Government, Paul Mercurio MP gave a glowing speech before handing out the Antenna Award for Best Arts Program. “I am just so impressed that community television is so alive and so well. It’s been so good seeing what I’ve seen tonight!” 

In a pre-recorded package, South Australian Premier Peter Malinauskas paid tribute to this year’s nominees and added, “In today’s day and age, when people are looking for trusted sources of information, increasingly they are looking local. Which is why having community TV on free-to-air TV is still critically important.” 

Speaking to the importance of representation on community television screens, host of First Nations current affairs program Mob Talks, Marcellus Enalanga, said, “To have First Nations voices heard, especially in a referendum year, to hear the stories about what’s going on, on the ground and our issues … is amazing!” 

“Non-profit, local access. These are powerful words,” was the message from City of Melbourne Deputy Lord Mayor Nicholas Reece as he congratulated the night’s participants. “Community TV shows us that media can be independent, inclusive, funny and fair.” 

“Tonight reminds us that each and every one of you, are ordinary people who do an extraordinary thing,” said President of the Community Broadcasting Foundation Ian Hamm. “Just as community radio gives voice to the unheard, you [community television] bring the light to the unseen.” 

Representing the Albanese Government, Member for Higgins Michelle Ananda-Rajah MP, presented the final two awards and added some concluding thoughts: “I can see that community TV is not only worthy itself, but it's clearly a pipeline for Australia’s talent, particularly our younger generation who are going to be the future leaders in this industry.  

“The variety of categories that we celebrate tonight reflect the diverse ways you connect and inspire. You continue to provide for your communities and, for that, we thank you.” 

“The 2023 Antenna Awards were a wonderful celebration of the community TV sector coming together to celebrate what we do best, sharing local stories” said C44 Adelaide General Manager Lauren Hillman. “These awards highlight the significant role community TV plays in the media landscape in continuing to produce the most diverse and independent content that mainstream media does not. They also display our important relationship with local university and industry partners in supporting pathways and training. Finally, the Antenna Awards emphasized community TV’s unique ability to continue to provide a platform for emerging and grassroots producers to create content.” 

“This year's awards came at a pivotal time for us” added C31 Melbourne General Manager and President of the Australian Community TV Alliance (ACTA) Shane Dunlop. “After a prolonged period of uncertainty, we are now well placed to secure a long-term future on free-to-air television and are excited about ushering in a new national footprint for community TV behind the excellent CTV+ service. We look forward to working with the Albanese Government in securing long-term broadcast security over the next brief period.” 

The Antennas are another testament to community TV’s ability to champion diversity. The winners and nominees represent an array of cultures, perspectives, and experiences, showing that the opportunities provided by community TV continue to provide a much-needed catalyst for truly inclusive media in Australia.  

The 2023 Antenna Award Winners are: 

Outstanding Performance in a Non-Factual Program 

Maddy Weeks (Wait...We’re Live!?) 

Best Music Program  


Best Sports Program  

Spacequake Sports  

Best Non-Factual Program  

The Struggle  

Best Outdoor and/or Recreational Program  

The Feel Good Family  

Best Live and/or Outside Broadcast Program  


Best Special Interest or Lifestyle Program  

Good Tucker  

Best Arts Program  

Live from St Kilda with Ben Murphy  

Best Interview Program  

Mob Talks  

Outstanding Direction in a Program  

Madison Siegertsz (Couch 44)  

Outstanding Camera Work in a Program  

Last Drinks: WA   

Outstanding Editing in a Program  

BennyGregs (Coming Together Christmas)  

Outstanding Personality in a Youth Program  

Sammy Murphy (By Popular Demand)  

Best Youth Program  

Couch 44  

Outstanding Creative Achievement in a Program 

The Art of Reconciliation  

Outstanding Contribution to a Community by a Program  


Best Culturally and/or Linguistically Diverse Program  

The Sri Lanka Morning Show  

Outstanding Personality in a Seniors Program  

Malcolm Harslett (Our Time)  

Best Seniors Program  

Move It Or Lost It  

Outstanding New Producer  

Bol Mayan (The Seed Network)  

Best Factual, Current Affairs Program  

Newsline – RMIT  

Outstanding Journalism in a Program  

MOJO News Federal Election 2022 – Australia Decides  

The CTV+ Program of the Year  

Cash 4 Trash  

The Stella Young Contribution to Community TV Award  

Carol O’Halloran (Over 50? So What!)  

Personality of the Year  

Wren Gillett (The Struggle)  

Program of the Year  

The Bent Spoon  

Inaugural Inductees into the CTV Legends Hall of Fame 

Caterina Borsato (Regional Italian Cuisine

Daryl Pitman & Ian “Benny” Bennett (The Local Footy Show

Brett Ramsey (In Pit Lane) 


Bent TV 

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram